Skip to content

Members FBIPT

Forum for British and Irish Political Thought

Steering Group

Professor Colin Kidd
Professor of History, University of St Andrews

Professor Gerry Carruthers 
Francis Hutcheson Chair of Scottish Literature, University of Glasgow

Professor Aileen McHarg 
Professor of Public Law, University of Strathclyde / Scottish Constitutional Futures Forum

Professor Jane Ohlmeyer 
Erasmus Smith’s Professor of Modern History, Trinity College Dublin

Dr Malcolm Petrie 
School of History, University of St Andrews

Professor Chris Williams 
Professor of History, Cardiff University

Advisory Board

Neal Ascherson
Writer and journalist

Lord Bew
Professor of Politics, Queens University Belfast and Member of the House of Lords

Sir Kenneth Calman
Chancellor, University of Glasgow

Professor Linda Colley
Shelby M.C. Davis 1958 Professor of History, Princeton University

Sir David Edward
Professor Emeritus, Edinburgh University School of Law

Tom Holland

Professor Caroline Humfress
Professor of History, University of St Andrews

Tim King

Gregg McClymont
Former Shadow Minister for Pensions

Lord McFall of Alcluith
Member of the House of Lords

David Melding A.M.
Member of the National Assembly for Wales

Lord Norton of Louth
Professor of Government, University of Hull and Member of the House of Lords

Neil Oliver
Broadcaster, historian, archaeologist and author

John Redwood MP
Member of Parliament for Wokingham and Co-Chairman of the Conservative Party’s Policy Review Group on Economic Competitiveness

Professor Louise Richardson
Vice-Chancellor, Oxford University

Professor Emma Rothschild
Jeremy and Jane Knowles Professor of History and Director, Center for History and Economics

The venture has attracted expressions of interest from a range of academics across several disciplines, and from various institutions, including not only the host institutions, St Andrews, Glasgow, TCD and Cardiff, but also at Oxford, King’s College London, University College London, Edinburgh, University of Ulster, Queen’s University Belfast, University of Strathclyde.

Associated Organisations

The Forum has close links with the Scottish Constitutional Futures Forum and aims to collaborate with the SCFF on joint events and initiatives.

The Forum also has particular affiliations with the Institute for Intellectual History, the Institute for Legal and Constitutional Research (both St Andrews), the Centre for Robert Burns Studies (Glasgow) and the Trinity Long Room Hub (Trinity College Dublin).